跳到内容

“数据管理”,“数据治理”和“数据管理”是IT行业中常见的流行语。 不幸的是,它们通常也被混淆和/或被误解。 让我们改变一下。

在过去的二十年中,大型组织的标准操作程序发生了根本性的变化,也许没有什么比建立用于自动化流程和处理大量数据的信息系统重要的了。 但是仅仅创建带宽来处理数据是不够的。 需要有一种使它可行的方法。 那是 资料管理.

数据治理和数据管理属于数据管理的范畴。 数据治理 是定义属性,规则,指标和标准以维护数据顺序,效率和敏捷性的过程。 重要的是,将数据治理工作视为计划而不是项目,因为它们是持续进行的,而不是具有特定的结束日期,就像销售,生产或组织中的任何其他活动一样。 数据治理计划应成为企业DNA的一部分。 数据管理另一方面,是应用这些度量和属性的过程。

遵循以下五个步骤可以创建数据治理程序。

分配

指派数据治理团队和团队负责人

问责制就是一切。 十分之九的时间,当数据项目失败时,这是因为在组织内未确定任何领导者或团队。 通常,领导职务分配给IT部门的人员,通常是使用BI工具或数据仓库解决方案的人员。 这是一个常见的错误。 组织应任命一个了解其业务“全局”(包括其数据细微差别)的人员。 此人必须支持组织内的数据治理计划,并能够在C-Suite级别上更改其愿景。 这是一项不小的工作。

确定方法

确定方法:自上而下还是自下而上?

数据治理计划源于执行任务(“自上而下”)或作为对战术数据挑战的基层响应(“自下而上”)。 这是一个重要的决定,将影响数据治理计划的进展速度。 在高级领导的支持下,该计划将取得更大的进步,但有时需要首先以小小的成功来确立数据治理的价值。 无论哪种情况,一旦计划全面实施,数据团队便将确定重点和资源的有效利用以及长期目标。

查看

识别数据对象/主数据

在确定最适合的方法之后,组织需要确定治理组织的范围,并且需要使初始优先级与战略业务目标保持一致。 这对于程序的成功至关重要。 如果选择对组织没有影响或影响很小的数据对象,则该项目将不会明显展示出ROÍ。 相反,如果选择了一个过于复杂的数据对象,那么该项目将花费太长时间,从而在短期内影响业务。

整合

与IT整合

选择了数据对象后,数据治理团队负责人应与组织的IT负责人联系,以识别数据对象在IT环境中的影响。 这将帮助数据治理团队确定时间表,流程中涉及的应用程序以及参与数据创建和维护的关键用户。 它还将为创建数据创建策略,标准和指标铺平道路。 一旦完成此任务,就可以确定是否需要更高级的数据治理工具。

实施

实施数据对象流程

最后一步是实施数据治理流程中使用的策略,标准,指标和工具。 仔细选择这些工具并定义业务流程将确保数据治理计划随着时间的推移而成功。

开始对话

Skip to content

“Data administration,” “data governance” and “data stewardship” are common buzzwords in the IT industry. Unfortunately, they are also commonly conflated and/or misunderstood. Let’s change that.

The last two decades have brought fundamental shifts in the standard operating procedures of large organizations, perhaps none more significant than the establishment of information systems to automate processes and handle massive amounts of data. But merely creating the bandwidth to handle data isn’t enough; there needs to be a way to make it actionable. That’s data administration.

Data governance and data stewardship fall under the umbrella of data administration. Data governance is the process of defining attributes, rules, metrics and standards to maintain order, efficiency and agility over data. It is important to think of data governance efforts as programs, rather than projects, since they are ongoing rather than having a specific end date – just like sales, production or any other activity in the organization. Data governance programs should become part of an enterprise’s DNA. Data stewardship, on the other hand, is the process of applying those metrics and attributes.

Data governance programs can be created by following these five steps.

Assign

Assign a Data Governance Team and Team Leader

Accountability is everything. Nine times out of ten, when a data project fails it is because no leader or team has been identified within the organization. Typically the leadership assignment goes to someone in the IT department, normally someone working with BI tools or data warehousing solutions. This is a common mistake. Organizations should appoint a person that understands the “big picture” of its business, including the nuances of its data. This person must champion the data governance program within the organization and be capable of changing the vision of it at the C-Suite level. It is no small job.

Determine the approach

Determine the approach: Top-Down or Bottom-Up?

Data governance initiatives originate either from an executive mandate (“top down”) or as a grass roots reponse to tactical data challenges (“bottom up”).  This is an important decision that will impact how quickly your data governance initiative progresses.  The program will make much more progress with support from senior leadership, but sometimes it is required to establish the value of data governance with small wins at first.  In either case, once the program is fully underway, the data team will then establish the focus and the efficient utilization of resources, as well as longer term objectives.

Identify

Identify the Data Object/Master Data

After determining which approach fits best, the organization needs to identify the scope of the governance organization, and needs to align the initial priorities to the strategic business objectives.  This is critical for the success of the program. If a data object that has nothing or little impact within the organization is chosen, the project will not appreciably demonstrate ROÍ. Conversely, if an overly complex data object is chosen, the project will take too long to impact business in the short term.

Integrate

Integrate with IT

Once the data object has been selected, the data governance team leader should connect with the organization’s IT leaders to identify the impact of the data object within the IT landscape. This will help the data governance team to determine timeline, applications involved in the process and the key users that participate in the creation and maintenance of the data. It will also pave the way to create policies, standards and metrics for the data creation. Once this task is accomplished, the need for a mater data governance tool can be determined.

Implement

Implement the Data Object Process

The final step is to implement the policies, standards, metrics and tools used in the data governance process. Carefully selecting these tools and defining the business process will ensure the success of the data governance program over time.

START A CONVERSATION